My day on trial – was it palm oil free?

So if today had been January 1st, day one of Orangutanuary, how would I have fared eating Palm oil free?

Breakfast: Green Smoothie (kale, banana, apple, orange, Alpro Simply Plain yoghurt, flaxseed, chia seeds, spiruluna, crunchy peanut butter).Alpro+Yofu+Simply+Plain+500g+UK_Alpro+Yofu+Simply+Plain+500g+UK2_316x618

Palm Oil Free? No! I was so surprised to see not even my smoothie made it through. The culprit? Ascorbyl Palmitate in the yoghurt. I’ve asked Alpro whether this is sustainably sourced and if they’re looking into alternatives. I’ll let you know.

Lunch: Homemade vegetable soup (onion, butternut squash, carrot, broccoli, kale & veg stock) and homemade savoury muffins (spelt flour, carrot, courgette, baking soda & powder, flaxseed, rapeseed oil, OJ). Then finished baby’s Warburtons sandwich thin and Violife cheese.

Palm Oil Free? No! It would have been if I’d laid off the toddler’s leftovers! Marigold Swiss Vegetable Bouillon powder is a vegan, palm oil free stock and Violife original cheeses are made with coconut oil. However, the Warburtons brown sandwich thins are made with vegetable oil containing palm. They do state it’s sustainable, but that’s no good for Orangutanuary!5010044004679_280_IDShot_3Snacks: fruit, all good! But cakes? All bad. Finished the last chocolate reindeer cupcake and final slice of homemade Christmas pudding.

Palm Oil Free? No!

Cupcakes – My cupcakes were made using the Vegan Society’s basic chocolate cupcake recipe, and I used rapeseed/canola oil, so plain they would have been fine. The reindeer’s antlers were Penn State original sea salted pretzels, and these are palm oil free, made with rapeseed oil. The pupils were Cooperative dark chocolate chunks, also palm oil free. But the icing was Betty Crocker chocolate fudge icing, the eyes were made from Cooperative ready to roll icing, both of which contain palm oil.

Christmas Pudding – I adapted a BBC Good Food recipe for Cherry and Pecan pudding, swapping eggs for flax-eggs and butter for Stork’s original baking block which is dairy free. This is unfortunately made with palm oil, although Unilever state they are committed to sustainable palm oil.

Dinner: Merchant Gourmet Puy Lentils, Tesco Mixed Bean Salad, Chilli seed mix and Waitrose Artichoke hearts. Alpro Strawberry and Banana yogurt.

Palm Oil Free? No! With the Alpro yogurt containing Ascorbyl Palmitate again, I failed again.

Overall I am gutted and actually amazed I didn’t manage a single meal palm oil free. This is going to be harder than I even thought!!

Wish me luck. I think I’m going to need it.

 

2 thoughts on “My day on trial – was it palm oil free?

  1. Hi Diana (is that the right name?) well done though! I know how hard it is to avoid palm oil. Ive started making my own bread using Yeo valley spreadable butter made with sunflower oil ( I’m veggie not vegan yet) and cream crackers as even Carrs table water biscuits contain PO, heaven knows why, they’re as dry as a desert! Crackers not a huge success as I didn’t roll the dough thinly enough. Keep up the good work even though shopping takes so much longer having to check ingredients in everything, most annoying thing is how many veggie/vegan foods contain it but was looking at Quorn dishes today, which I’m not keen on, but pleasantly surprised to see they are POF so might give them a second try. If they can do it, why can’t others?
    Happy new POF year!
    Jean McCarthy AKA fluffyorca @weaniejeanie53

    Like

    1. Hi! Thanks for reading my blog! And for the encouragement. It’s definitely not going to be easy but I think it’ll be a great education. The choice does seem to be butter or Palm oil, choose dead cows or dead orangutans. Hmm!

      Good luck with Quorn. They do a vegan range now so look out for those. I can’t eat the stuff but hope you find some you like!

      Happy new year to you too! Keep in touch to tell me how you’re getting on.

      Like

Leave a Reply

