Mrs O’s Fuss Free Mixes – Vegan and Palm Oil Free

I love the connections you make on Twitter. I love the conversations you never thought you’d have and people you never expect to meet. And I love a competition! Last week I won a ‘he who tweets first’ content for a free cake mix of my choice from Mrs O’s Fuss Free Mixes. Honestly, I was going to stop baking so much, really!

20160126_194812000_iOS

Mrs O (Tutu Ojuroye) sent me a vanilla cake mix, which retails at £6.45, and I dove straight in the same day. The ingredients are organic and this mix is advertised as egg-free, dairy-free and nut-free. Mrs O also sells gluten-free cake mixes.

20160126_195712758_iOS

Ingredients: Organic Self Raising Flour, Monocalcium Phosphate, Sodium Bicarbonate, Organic Caster Sugar, Organic Magagascan Vanilla.

20160126_205724120_iOS

The packet looks high-quality, with an eye-catching colour and a re-sealable design, although this seems redundant when you use the whole lot at once. I don’t think anyone would be weighing out half measures as you wouldn’t know if you’d got the right mix of flour/sugar/raising agents. Perhaps the mixes would be cheaper with a simpler packet?

The packet advised adding:

  • 100g warm melted sunflower spread
  • 200ml rice milk
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp white wine vinegar

However, to keep it palm oil free, I used warmed rapeseed oil. I substituted 85ml oil for the 100g spread. I also didn’t have rice milk so used unsweetened almond milk. This obviously doesn’t make it nut-free anymore.

20160126_195707720_iOS

Directions: In one bowl whisk together the warm spread (oil), milk, vanilla and vinegar. In another bowl sift the cake mix. This is slightly odd as the mix contains caster sugar, which doesn’t sift through the sieve so you get a pile of sugar on top which has to be mixed back in. Stir in the wet ingredients and pour into your prepared cake tin.

I thought my daughter might enjoy individual cupcakes so I lined a cupcake tray instead and poured out 12 cakes.

As we have a fan oven I reduced the temperature slightly and baked for 15 minutes, testing with a toothpick to check they were cooked through. I left them to cool so we could try them plain and both my husband and I were impressed with the final cake.

They had that lovely crisp top from being freshly baked, and they were lightly and fluffy with a clear vanilla flavour.

The next day I had a go at decorating and thought I’d try out the egg-free meringue again. I used the liquid from a can of biona organic chickpeas as there’s no additives, simply water.

I added 3/4 cup icing sugar, a pinch of cream of tartar and whisked it up with the balloon whisk on my food mixer.

I had a play around with piping too, although it’s clear I’m no expert! And then I popped them under the grill to brown the meringue.

I think they looked really pretty!

20160127_111359592_iOS

A bit of prettying up for the camera…

And a reminder these are 100% cruelty-free!

20160127_112003333_iOS

Overall we enjoyed these cakes. The mix was easy to use, with very little measuring, although I think it would be useful to include cupcake directions as well. The finished cakes tasted lovely and didn’t last long!

If you used rice milk these would be nut-free, as well as suitable for vegans as they are egg-free and dairy-free.

Mrs O’s mixes are certainly more expensive, about three times the price, than a Betty Crocker mix, but the ingredients in Mrs O’s are much more natural. Betty Crocker mixes also contain palm oil so it pays to avoid that! One of the hacks for a BC mix however is the ability to simply pour a can of pop in, mix and bake. No idea if that would work with Mrs O’s! Let me know if you try.

You can follow Mrs O on Twitter, Instagram, or check out the website at http://fussfreecakes.com/.

I did receive the cake mix sample for free, but the views expressed above are all my own.

 

Leave a Reply

